Skilled Divorce Representation
I understand how difficult the divorce process can sometimes feel. Trying to navigate these challenges on your own can often result in an outcome that will leave you with years of regret. Instead of taking chances with your future, let an experienced divorce attorney help you.
Artherton Law handles both contested and uncontested divorce cases without custody involvement in Boone, Searcy, Newton and Carroll counties in Arkansas. To establish a divorce case in Arkansas one of the parties must have lived in the state for at least 60 days before the plaintiff can file. Arkansas is also considered an “at fault” state, meaning the plaintiff must prove that there were reasonable grounds for divorce.
Determining Legal Grounds For Divorce
While all states vary on these terms, legal grounds for divorce in Arkansas include:
- General indignities
- This is the most common reason for divorce in Arkansas. This simply means that the other spouse made your life so intolerable that you can no longer stand to be married.
- The other spouse was convicted of a felony
- Habitual drunkenness
- Cruel and barbarous treatment
- Lived separate and apart for 18 continuous months
- Lived separate and apart for three years due to the spouse’s incurable insanity and the spouse has been committed to a mental health facility
- Lack of support – meaning the spouse has a legal obligation to support you and the ability but does not.
I can take the time to review your unique case to determine what grounds you have for your divorce and how we can pursue the ideal outcome in your case.
Alternative Divorce Options
In an uncontested divorce, couples can avoid litigation by working together to resolve their divorce on their own terms. In other words, both parties are in agreement to the divorce, and either no property is involved or the parties have agreed to the distribution of all property and assets involved. These are the easiest and most inexpensive types of divorce cases to settle, but most people still choose to hire an attorney to make sure everything is covered correctly.
Taking Divorce Cases To Court
A contested divorce is when there is something in which the parties disagree that must be decided by the court. This might be something simple or several very complex situations including property, children, visitation, etc. The opposing party can even contest the divorce itself. These cases are rarely easy, considerably longer to resolve, and require skilled attorneys to represent both parties in order to achieve the best possible outcome.
Arkansas is an equitable distribution state (some call this a 50-50 state), meaning that only property acquired during the marriage is subject to division in the divorce settlement. Any property acquired before the marriage will remain with the corresponding party.
How Long Does It Take To Get A Divorce
All cases are different, but Arkansas law requires a divorce to take a minimum of 30 days from filing to the request being granted. Realistically, even uncontested divorces take 45 to 60 days. If the divorce is contested, there is usually a minimum of six to 18 months, and these cases can take even longer to resolve.